The Wheel of the Year is a cycle of eight Pagan festivals, also known as Sabbats, that mark the changing seasons and the sun's journey through the year. It represents the cyclical nature of life, death, and rebirth, mirroring the Earth's rhythms and humanity's connection with nature.

The eight Sabbats are made up of Solar Festivals and Fire Festivals:

Solar Festivals (Solstices and Equinoxes):

- Yule (Winter Solstice): Celebrates the rebirth of the sun and the lengthening of days.
- Ostara (Spring Equinox): Marks the balance between day and night, symbolizing new beginnings and fertility.
- Litha (Summer Solstice): Celebrates the longest day and the peak of sunlight.
- **Mabon (Autumn Equinox):** Represents the second harvest and the balance between day and night as the days shorten.

Fire Festivals (Cross-Quarter Days):

- **Imbolc:** Celebrates the first stirrings of spring and the promise of new life.
- **Beltane:** A festival of fire, fertility, and union, marking the beginning of summer.
- Lughnasadh/Lammas: Celebrates the first harvest and the bounty of the earth.
- **Samhain:** A time to honor ancestors and reflect on the past year, marking the end of the harvest and the beginning of winter.

The Wheel of the Year is a framework for understanding and celebrating the natural world, and it is a central part of many pagan and Wiccan traditions. While it incorporates elements from various ancient traditions, the specific conceptualization of the Wheel of the Year as a unified cycle is a more modern development.

Calendar of Sabbats:

Winter Solstice or Yule – December Imbolc – February Spring Equinox or Ostara – March Beltane – May Sumer Solstice or Litha – June Lammas or Lughnasadh – August Autumn equinox or Mabon – September Samhain - October